Champions of lacrosse, Maribyrnong Leader

A GROUP of Footscray lacrosse players are now national champions after winning the 2017 ALA Senior Championships in South Australia. Miles Blair, Jeff Melsopp, Peter Kwas, James Lawerson and Chris Plumb, along with Abbie Burgess, Verity Clough, Stella Justice-Allen, Rebecca Lane, Esther Lavelle, Nelly Mollison and Sarah Mollison represented the Victorian men’s and women’s sides which won the tournament from June 8 to 11. Six Footscray Lacrosse Club members were also selected for the two All-Star teams, which recognise the best players from the tournament. Among those was Peter Kwas who was voted the most valuable men’s player.   (First published in the Maribyrnong Leader on June 21st 2017)